Vermilion County

Sheriff Pat Hartshorn
2 E. South Street
Danville, IL 61832


Phone: (217) 442-4080
Fax: (217) 431-3781


Year Elected: 1990
Years of Law Enforcement: 38

Executive Assistant: Tracy Brown
Chief Deputy: Michael Hartshorn
Jail Administrator: Colin Osterbur

County Population: 90000
Square Miles: 900

County Jail Address: 2 E. South Street, Danville, Illinois 61832
Number of Jail Beds: 420
Jail Directions: I-74 east to Bowman Street exit. Take Bowman Street nort to South Street. Turn left (west) and go eight blocks. Jail is on the left.
Special Instructions: Go to rear of the Public Safety Building. Dirve down ramp to security garage door. Notify jail by intercom near door that you are picking up a prisoner.
Sheriffs Elected From This County From 1928 (Year ISA Established) To Present (this list includes only those Sheriffs elected to a 4 year term)
1928-1930 Col. M. B. Grimes 1930-1934 Col. F. W. Ward 1934-1938 Harry C. George
1938-1942 F. W. Ward 1942-1946 William E. Wayland 1946-1950 J. L. Supple
1950-1954 Herbert M. Culp 1954-1958 W. C. Hendrickson 1958-1962 Harlan R. Hosch
1962-1966 John W. Clark 1966-1970 Harlan R. Hosch 1970-1974 John W. Clark
1974-1978 Robert L. Dietzen 1978-1982 Walter Lumsargis 1982-1986 C. E. "Gene" Hughes
1986-1990 C. E. "Gene" Hughes 1990-1994 Patrick Hartshorn 1994-1998 Patrick Hartshorn
1998-2002 Patrick Hartshorn 2002-2006 Patrick Hartshorn 2006-2010 Patrick Hartshorn
2010-2014 Patrick Hartshorn 2014-2018 Patrick Hartshorn