Stephenson County

15 N. Galena Ave., Freeport, IL 61032

Sheriff David Snyders

Year Elected: 1998   Years in Law Enforcement: 42


Executive Assistant: Heather Becker
Chief Deputy: Steve Stovall
Jail Administrator: Nick Pontnack

County Population: 46000
Square Miles: 565

County Jail Address: 1680 E. Singer Dr., Freeport, IL 61032
Number of Jail Beds: 216
Jail Directions: U.S. Rt. 20 to Adams Street. Go north on Adams to Singer Drive. East on Singer to the jail.

Sheriffs Elected From This County
From 1928 (Year ISA Established) To Present
This list includes only those Sheriffs elected to a 4 year term
1928-1930 John G. Hayes 1930-1934 Elmer L. Kailey 1934-1938 Lee Aurand
1938-1942 Harry Yde 1942-1946 Walter E. Engels 1946-1950 Ray K. Mead
1950-1954 Harold V. Vore 1954-1958 Walter Engels 1958-1962 Alvin Stine
1962-1966 Donald G. Scofield 1966-1970 Alvin "Mutt" Stine 1970-1974 Donald Scofield
1974-1978 Donald Scofield 1978-1982 Donald Scofield 1982-1986 Glen T. Oefelein
1986-1990 Samuel J. Volkert 1990-1994 Samuel J. Volkert 1994-1998 Samuel J. Volkert
1998-2002 David Snyders 2002-2006 David Snyders 2006-2010 David Snyders
2010-2014 David Snyders 2014-2018 David Snyders