Massac County

519 Market St., Metropolis, IL 62960

Sheriff Chad Kaylor

Year Elected: Appointed 2019   Years in Law Enforcement: 


Executive Assistant: Sandy Howell
Chief Deputy: J.D. Haverkamp
Jail Administrator: John Konnemann

County Population: 15000
Square Miles: 245

County Jail Address: Superman Square, Metopolis, IL 62960
Number of Jail Beds: 42
Jail Directions: U.S. 45 into Metropolis off I-24. Continue on 45 to 4-way stop. Go one block to Courthouse Square

Sheriffs Elected From This County
From 1928 (Year ISA Established) To Present
This list includes only those Sheriffs elected to a 4 year term
1928-1930 Fred Risinger 1930-1934 George Krueger 1934-1938 Fred Risinger
1938-1942 John Strele 1942-1946 George Krueger 1946-1950 John Herbert Goyert
1950-1954 Leonard Devers 1954-1958 George Krueger 1958-1962 Dwight L. Mann
1962-1966 J. Myrel Kreuter 1966-1970 Henry Benningmeyer 1970-1974 Oscar Mizell
1974-1978 John Virgil Nelson 1978-1982 Emil J. Cornille 1982-1986 Robert "Bon" Butler
1986-1990 Bill Reineking 1990-1994 Sam V. Dunning 1994-1998 Sam V. Dunning
1998-2002 James R. Griffey 2002-2006 James R. Griffey 2006-2010 James R. Griffey
2010-2014 Ted Holder 2014-2018 Ted Holder