Macon County

333 South Franklin St., Decatur, IL 62523

Sheriff James Root

Year Elected: 2018  Years in Law Enforcement: 27


Executive Assistant: Maria Roarick
Chief Deputy: Matthew Jedlicka
Jail Administrator: Jamie Belcher

County Population: 110000
Square Miles: 586

County Jail Address: 333 South Franklin St., Decatur, IL 62523
Number of Jail Beds: 425
Jail Directions: Rt. 51 South- to Macon St. Turn left on Macon St. to Franklin St. Law Enforcement Center is on the left. 

Sheriffs Elected From This County
From 1928 (Year ISA Established) To Present
This list includes only those Sheriffs elected to a 4 year term
1928-1930 Charles A. Thrift 1930-1934 E.C. Wilson 1934-1938 Emery Thornell
1938-1942 A.C. Ammann 1942-1946 Emery Thornell 1946-1950 A.C. Ammann
1950-1954 David M. Peters, Jr. 1954-1958 C.W. Peebles 1958-1962 Emery M. Thornell
1962-1966 Charles D. Peters 1966-1970 Jim Doster 1970-1974 Ray Rex
1974-1978 Ray Rex 1978-1982 Steven D. Fisher 1982-1986 Steven D. Fisher
1986-1990 Leo Holsapple 1990-1994 Leo Holsapple 1994-1998 Leo Holsapple
1998-2003 Roger E. Walker, Jr 2004-2008 Jerry Dawson 2008-2014 Thomas Schneider
2014-2017 Thomas Schnieder 2018-2022 James Root