Sangamon County

1 Sheriff's Plaza, Springfield, IL 62701

Sheriff Jack Campbell

Year Elected: 2018   Years in Law Enforcement: 32


Executive Assistant: Megan Antonacci
Chief Deputy: Anthony Mayfield
Jail Administrator: Larry Beck

County Population: 190000
Square Miles: 870

County Jail Address: 1 Sheriff's Plaza, Springfield, IL 62701
Number of Jail Beds: 315
Jail Directions: I-55 north or south take the Clear Lake Exit west towards downtown. Turn south on 9th St. follow to Adams and turn left on Adams. Jail is attached to the courthouse on the north side of the building. 

Sheriffs Elected From This County
From 1928 (Year ISA Established) To Present
This list includes only those Sheriffs elected to a 4 year term
1928-1930 James M. Kent 1930-1934 Samuel T. Metcalf 1934-1938 Luke J. Gaule
1938-1942 Harry A. Eielson 1942-1946 Walter H. Hagler 1946-1950 Meredith Rhule
1950-1954 James M. Walsh 1954-1958 Arthur A. Gross 1958-1962 Hugh A. Campbell
1962-1966 James Christensen 1966-1970 Edward "Eddie" Ryan 1970-1974 Hugh A. Campbell
1974-1978 Martin Gutschenritter 1978-1982 Jim Purdon 1982-1986 Jim Purdon
1986-1990 J. William DeMarco 1990-1994 J. William DeMarco 1994-1998 Neil Williamson
1998-2002 Neil Williamson 2002-2006 Neil Williamson 2006-2010 Neil Williamson
2010-2014 Neil Williamson 2014-2018 Wes Barr 2018-2022 Jack Campbell