Rock Island County

1317 3rd Ave., Rock Island, IL 61201

Sheriff Darren Hart

Year Elected: 2022  Years in Law Enforcement: 29


Executive Assistant: LeAnn Ziegenhorn
Chief Deputy: Jens Lape
Jail Administrator: Eric Holton

County Population: 142000
Square Miles: 452

County Jail Address: 1317 3rd Ave., Rock Island, IL 61201
Number of Jail Beds: 326
Jail Directions: I-80 to 280 to IL 92 northbound (last IL Exit). Follow approx 5 miles to downtown and take 1st right after going under Centennial Bridge. Follow two blocks and take another right. Jail is located behind courthouse on 3rd Ave. 

Sheriffs Elected From This County
From 1928 (Year ISA Established) To Present
This list includes only those Sheriffs elected to a 4 year term
1928-1930 Howard Gregg 1930-1934 Fred R. Schlueter 1934-1938 Rudolph W. Kropp
1938-1942 Fred R. Schlueter 1942-1946 Joe Schneider 1946-1950 Claude Taylor
1950-1954 Morris E. Muhleman 1954-1958 Joe Schneider 1958-1962 Howard L. Dietreich
1962-1966 Elner Fredrickson 1966-1970 William R. "Bill" Boyle 1970-1974 Joe Schneider
1974-1978 Joe Schneider 1978-1982 Randy Heaton 1982-1986 Gordon Powell
1986-1990 Gordon Powell 1990-1994 Michael Grchan 1994-1998 Michael Grchan
1998-2002 Michael Grchan 2002-2006 Michael Grchan 2006-2010 Michael Huff
2010-2014 Jeff Boyd 2014-2018 Gerald Bustos 2018-2022 Gerald Bustos