McLean County

104 W. Front St., Bloomington, IL 61702 (P.O. Box 2400)

Sheriff Matthew R. Lane

Year Elected: 2022   Years in Law Enforcement: 27


Executive Assistant: J.J. Braksick
Chief Deputy: Hadley Welsch
Chief Deputy: Jeff Kretlow
Jail Administrator: Diane Hughes

County Population: 174060
Square Miles: 1186

County Jail Address: 104 W. Front St., Bloomington, IL 61702
Number of Jail Beds: 455
Jail Directions: From North I-55 take the Market St. Exit and go East to Madison St. Go right and continue south to Olive St. and turn left to Front St. From South I-55 to Veteran's Parkway an exit at Main Street and turn left at the light. Follow to Olive Street and turn left to Front St.

Sheriffs Elected From This County
From 1928 (Year ISA Established) To Present
This list includes only those Sheriffs elected to a 4 year term
1928-1930 Walter Nierstheiner 1930-1934 S.J. Reeder 1934-1938 Elmer G. Swearnegen
1938-1942 Walter Nierstheimer 1942-1946 Earl Richards 1946-1950 Curtis M. Gilberts
1950-1954 Earl Richards 1954-1958  Arthur M. Campbell 1958-1962 Elmo D. Poshard
1962-1966 Ralph S. Skidmore 1966-1970 Carl H. Slayback 1970-1974 John W. King
1974-1978 John W. King 1978-1982 Steve Brienen 1982-1986 Steve Brienen
1986-1990 Steve Brienen 1990-1994 Steve Brienen 1994-1998 Steve Brienen
1998-2002 David Owens 2002-2006 David Owens 2006-2010 Mike Emery
2010-2014 Mike Emery 2014-2018 Jon Sandage 2018-2022 Jon Sandage