Effingham County

101 North 4th St., Effingham, IL 62401

Sheriff Paul Kuhns

Year Elected: 2022  Years in Law Enforcement: 


Executive Assistant: Vicky Budde
Chief Deputy: Travis Buhnerkempe 
Jail Administrator: Arnold Rexroad

County Population: 33300
Square Miles: 486

County Jail Address: 101 N. 4th Street, Effingham, IL 62401
Number of Jail Beds: 60
Jail Directions: From I-57 & 70 take the 162 MM exit and turn south on U.S. Rt. 45. Follow to Washington St. and turn right. Go one block to 4th St. and turn left. The jail will be on the right.

Sheriffs Elected From This County
From 1928 (Year ISA Established) To Present
This list includes only those Sheriffs elected to a 4 year term
1928-1930 J.D. Marshall 1930-1934 John J. Boos 1934-1938 Mark K. Ervin
1938-1942 Tom McDevitt 1942-1946 A.E. Steppe 1946-1950 Thomas McDevitt
1950-1954 Charles L. Melzer 1954-1958 Thomas McDevitt 1958-1962 Jerald E. Croft
1962-1966 L.R. Jennings 1966-1970 A.P. "Speed" Ditter 1970-1974 Leo Nobisch
1974-1978 Kenneth Moore 1978-1982 Kenneth Moore 1982-1986 Kenneth Moore
1986-1990 Art Kinkelaar 1990-1994 Art Kinkelaar 1994-1998 Ronald Meek
1998-2002 Ronald Meek 2002-2006 John Monnet 2006-2010 John Monnet
2010-2014 John Monnet 2014-2018 David J. Mahon 2018-2021 David J. Mahon