Adams County


Sheriff Rich Wagner
521 Vermont
Quincy, IL 62301


Phone: (217) 277-2206
Fax: (217) 277-2214


Year Elected: 2020 Appointed 
Years of Law Enforcement: 

Executive Assistant: Rhonda Goodwin
Chief Deputy: Joe Lohmeyer 
Jail Administrator: Chad Downs 

County Population: 68000
Square Miles: 870

County Jail Address: 521 Vermont, Quincy, IL 62301
Number of Jail Beds: 114
Jail Directions: I-172 to Broadway/104 exit. Turn left and head west on Broadway. Go to 6th & Broadway and the Courthouse will be on the left hand side between 5th & 6th.
Special Instructions: Go to Broadway side of courthouse (back entrance) and there will be a speaker box at the back door for communications.
Sheriffs Elected From This County From 1928 (Year ISA Established) To Present (this list includes only those Sheriffs elected to a 4 year term)
1928-1930 Kenneth A. Elmore 1930-1934 J.W. Jacobs 1934-1938 Ray Robertson
1938-1942 George Meyer Jr. 1942-1946 Roy A. Peter 1946-1950 Otis Woodruff
1950-1954 Virgil H. Duesterhaus 1954-1958 Virgil H. Duesterhaus 1958-1962 John G Fichter
1962-1966 Charles W. Proctor 1966-1970 John G. Fichter 1970-1974 Ralph Wiegmann
1974-1978 Robert E. Nall 1978-1982 Robert E. Nall 1982-1986 Robert E. Nall
1986-1990 Robert E. Nall 1990-1994 Robert E. Nall 1994-1998 Robert E. Nall
1998-2002 Brent Fischer 2002-2006 Brent Fischer 2006-2010 Brent Fischer
2010-2016 Brent Fischer 2016-2018 Brian VonderHaar