

Illinois Sheriffs' Association



BOARD OF OFFICERS Sheriff Mike Everett Wayne County President

Sheriff Brian VanVickle Ogle County 1st Vice President

Sheriff Kevin Doyle Putnam County 2nd Vice President

Sheriff Jeff Standard Fulton County Secretary/Treasurer

Immed. Past President Sheriff David Clague Knox County

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Sheriff Kevin Turner Jo Daviess County

Sheriff Dwight Baird Kendall County

Sheriff John Simonton Lee County

Sheriff Jon Sandage McLean County

Sheriff Mark Doran Ford County

Sheriff Nicholas Petitgout McDonough County

Sheriff Darby Boewe Edwards County

Sheriff Andrew Hires Richland County

Sheriff J. Derek Morgan Wabash County

PAST PRESIDENTS Sheriff David Snyders Stephenson County Past President (2018)

Sheriff Doug Maier White County Past President (2017)

Sheriff Tom Templeton LaSalle County Past President (2015)

Sheriff Pat Hartshorn (2013) Vermilion County

Sheriff Roger Scott (2006) DeKalb County

Jim Kaitschuk Executive Director 2020-13 is the EO that eliminates transfers for IDOC for the duration of the order April 7, 2020, unless or until the proclamation is extended.

ISA Response:

"Sheriffs certainly understand how quickly this situation is evolving and are supporting efforts in our communities to keep citizens and their families safe. Local sheriffs across the state believe this policy further puts every county at higher risk, jeopardizes the safety of inmates and correctional officers, and requires local government to burden additional costs," said Jim Kaitschuk. "We're on the front lines and local sheriffs need to be able to safely and securely transfer healthy inmates out of their facility to a state correctional center to mitigate risk, prevent overcrowding and slow or minimize the spread within the correctional system."

"Law enforcement believes that the entire state is in this together, but this policy shifts an enormous burden to every county jail, when it is most appropriate to transfer individuals to a state correctional facility," said Illinois Sheriffs' Association President, Sheriff Mike Everett, Wayne County. "We ask this decision be reevaluated so that we can safely and securely transfer healthy individuals out of local correctional facilities to another appropriate location within the state's criminal justice system."

401 East Washington

Springfield, Illinois 62701 www.ilsheriff.org

Phone: (217)753-2372

Fax: (217)753-2405 E-Mail: ILSheriff@ilsheriff.org