

FULTON COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFICE

268 W Washington Ave PO Box 269 Lewistown IL 61542 Telephone (309) 547-2277 Fax (309) 547-2355

JEFF STANDARD SHERIFF

The Fulton County Sheriff's Office is pleased to announce the Fulton County Sheriff's Telecommunicators have been named the 2019 Illinois Sheriffs' Association Telecommunicators of the year.

Each year the ISA awards Deputy of the Year, Corrections Officer of the Year, and Telecommunicator of the year. The ISA is tasked with making a tough decision regarding the numerous nominations they receive from Sheriff's throughout the state. The Illinois Sheriffs' Association has chosen the Fulton County Telecommunicators based on their actions June 25th, 2019 and for the subsequent days that followed.

The award was based on the actions of all of the Telecommunicators. Each of the Telecommunicators arrived at the office ready to do what was needed to help their coworkers get through this tragedy. This division of the Sheriff's Office handled hundreds of phone calls, and hundreds of radio transmissions in the days that followed the tragic event of the murder of Deputy Troy Chisum. They were answering calls from agencies offering support and services, handling media requests, and they were handling the day to day operations that accompany the job. These Telecommunicators were not wanting to leave their seats in the operation center as they all felt it was their responsibility to help get this office through some hard days.

All of the training in the world will never prepare you for the loss of one of your Deputies. These TC's certainly learned what it took to get through a crisis of this

type. Each of these TC's continue to show up for work each and every day to meet the needs of Fulton County.

"I was told numerous times, by numerous people, that this division performed remarkably well in the face of devastating news. The ISA apparently felt the same way as they gave this award to our office. I know firsthand that these prestigious awards are deserved by all of the winners. I would like to congratulate all of the winners on their awards. Deputy Sarah McWhirter from Winnebago County, Deputy of the Year; Correctional Officer Richard Emling from Perry County, Correctional Officer of the Year and your Telecommunicators from Fulton County, Eric Martin, Keith Wojtkiewicz, Megan Hickle, Tashina Bradford, and Candyce Orwig, Telecommunicators of the Year. I could not be more proud of the work they do day in and day out. Fulton County should be proud as well." Said Sheriff Jeff Standard.