Winnebago County


Sheriff Gary Caruana
420 West State Street
Rockford, IL 61101


Phone: (815) 319-6005
Fax: (815) 987-5426


Year Elected: 2014
Years of Law Enforcement: 34

Executive Assistant: 
Chief Deputy: Mark Karner
Jail Administrator: Robert Redmond

County Population: 279943
Square Miles: 520

County Jail Address: 650 West State Street, Rockford, IL 61102
Number of Jail Beds: 1212
Jail Directions: I-39 north to U.S. Rt. 20 bypass. Take bypass west (toward Freeport) to Rockford exit at South Main Street. IL Rt. 2 north - follow signs to IL Rt. 2. At West State Street (stop light) turn left. Go three blocks (three stop lights). Will be on the left side of the street.
Special Instructions: Go down West State Street past Winnebago. Turn left into parking lot across from Horseman. Pull up to speaker, identify yourself and pull into the sally port. Park your vehicle and secure your weapon. If lodging a prisoner, enter a door that is marked
Sheriffs Elected From This County From 1928 (Year ISA Established) To Present (this list includes only those Sheriffs elected to a 4 year term)
1928-1930 Harry H. Baldwin 1930-1934 William C. Bell 1934-1938 Paul F. Johnson
1938-1942 William C. Bell 1942-1946 Kirk S. King 1946-1950 Emil W. Heideman
1950-1954 Kirk S. King 1954-1958 Leonard A. Friberg 1958-1962 Iver W. Johnson
1962-1966 Kirk S. King 1966-1970 Herbert D. Brown 1970-1974 Gerald "Gust" Pratt
1974-1978 Paul J. Bengston 1978-1982 Donald Gasparini 1982-1986 Donald Gasparini
1986-1990 Donald Gasparini 1990-1994 Donald Gasparini 1994-1998 Donald Gasparini
1998-2002 Richard A. Meyers 2002-2006 Richard A. Meyers 2006-2010 Richard A. Meyers
2010-2014 Richard A. Meyers 2014-2018 Gary Caruana