Tazewell County

Sheriff Jeff Lower
101 S. Capitol
Pekin, IL 61554


Phone: (309) 478-5607
Fax: (309) 478-5668

Website: www.tazewell.com
Email: jlower@tazewell.com

Year Elected: 2018
Years of Law Enforcement: 30

Executive Assistant: Jennifer Shallenberger
Chief Deputy: Tim Gillespie
Jail Administrator: Stacey Kempf

County Population: 135000
Square Miles: 649

County Jail Address:  101 S. Capitol Street, Pekin, Illinois 61554
Number of Jail Beds: 226
Jail Directions: I-74 to IL Rt. 29 south into Pekin. Turn west at Court Street and proceed two blocks west to Capitol. Turn south on Capitol. One block to jail. I-155 to Rt. 9 (Court Street) westbound into Pekin. Take Court Street downtown to Capitol Street (along west side of courthouse). Turn south. One block to jail
Special Instructions: Sally port in rear of building.
Sheriffs Elected From This County From 1928 (Year ISA Established) To Present (this list includes only those Sheriffs elected to a 4 year term)
1928-1930 Ernest L. Fleming 1930-1934 James J. Crosby 1934-1938 Ralph C. Goar
1938-1942 Guy E. Donahue 1942-1946 William Grant 1946-1950 Herbert L. Hirstein
1950-1954 George L. Saal, Sr. 1954-1958 Ray O. Crafton 1958-1962 George L. Saal, Sr.
1962-1964 George H. Sweeter 1966-1970 Arch E. Bartelmay, Jr. 1970-1974 James Donahue
1974-1978 James Donahue 1978-1982 James Donahue 1982-1986 James Donahue
1986-1990 James Donahue 1990-1993 James Donahue 1994-1998 Ralph Hodgson
1998-2002 Robert M. Huston 2002-2006 Robert M. Huston 2006-2010 Robert M. Huston
2010-2014 Robert M. Huston 2014-2018 Robert Huston