Shelby County


Sheriff Don Koonce
151 N. Morgan St.
Shelbyville, IL 62565


Phone: (217) 774-3941
Fax: (217) 774-2851


Year Elected: 2014
Years of Law Enforcement: 45

Executive Assistant: Tina Wade
Chief Deputy: Rob McCall
Jail Administrator: Rob McCall

County Population: 22119
Square Miles: 782

County Jail Address: 151 N. Morgan Street, Shelbyville, Illinois 62565
Number of Jail Beds: 27
Jail Directions: IL Rt. 16 to Morgan Street. Turn north and jail is down 1/2 block on east side.
Special Instructions: Sally port behind the jail in the alley between the jail and the courthouse parking lot. Intercom on south side of sally port to comunicate with jail personnel.
Sheriffs Elected From This County From 1928 (Year ISA Established) To Present (this list includes only those Sheriffs elected to a 4 year term)
1928-1930 Wm. T. Biggs 1930-1934 A. D. Herten 1934-1938 R. O. Watson
1938-1942 Fred Howse 1942-1946 J. C. Beem 1946-1950 Cecil C. Clausen
1950-1954 Kenneth E. Funk 1954-1958 Cecil C. Clausen 1958-1962 Glenn W. Wade
1962-1966 Aubrey Lyle McDonald 1966-1970 Glenn "Bill" Wade 1970-1974 Carl Herten
1974-1978 Robert A. Collins 1978-1982 Robert A. Collins 1982-1986 Robert A. Collins
1986-1990 Lloyd Spencer 1990-1994 Randall D. Sims 1994-1998 Randall D. Sims
1998-2002 Randall D. Sims 2002-2006 Randall D. Sims 2006-2010 Michael Miller
2010-2014 Michael Miller 2014-2018 Don Koonce