Sangamon County

Sheriff Jack Campbell
#1 Sheriff's Plaza
Springfield, IL 62701


Phone: (217) 753-6855
Fax: (217) 753-6387


Year Elected: 2018
Years of Law Enforcement: 26

Executive Assistant: Kathy Miller
Chief Deputy: Cheryllynn Williams
Jail Administrator: Larry Beck

County Population: 190000
Square Miles: 870

County Jail Address: 1 Sheriff's Plaza, Springfield, Illinois 62701
Number of Jail Beds: 315
Jail Directions: I-55 north or south - take Clear Lake exit west toward downtown to 11th Street. At 11th Street turn left (south) two blocks to Adams Street. At Adams St. turn right go two blocks to 9th and Adams jail site.
Special Instructions:
Sheriffs Elected From This County From 1928 (Year ISA Established) To Present (this list includes only those Sheriffs elected to a 4 year term)
1928-1930 James M. Kent 1930-1934 Samuel T. Metcalf 1934-1938 Luke J. Gaule
1938-1942 Harry A. Eielson 1942-1946 Walter H. Hagler 1946-1950 Meredith Rhule
1950-1953 James M. Walsh 1954-1958 Arthur A. Gross 1958-1962 Hugh A. Campbell
1962-1966 James Christensen 1966-1970 Edward "Eddie" Ryan 1970-1974 Hugh Campbell
1974-1978 Martin Gutschenritter 1978-1982 Jim Purdon 1982-1986 Jim Purdon
1986-1990 J. William Demarco 1990-1994 J. William Demarco 1994-1998 Neil Williamson
1998-2002 Neil Williamson 2002-2006 Neil Williamson 2006-2010 Neil Williamson
2010-2014 Neil Williamson 2014-2018 Wes Barr