Saline County

Sheriff J. Whipper Johnson
1 N. Main Street
Harrisburg, IL 62946


Phone: (618) 252-8661
Fax: (618) 252-2503

Website: N/A

Year Elected: 2018
Years of Law Enforcement: 21

Executive Assistant: Misty Fulkerson
Chief Deputy: Jerod Campbell & Michael Casteel
Jail Administrator: Brian Bennett

County Population: 30000
Square Miles: 378
County Jail Address: 1 N. Main Street, Harrisburg, Illinois 62946
Number of Jail Beds: 110
Jail Directions: East from I-57 on Rt. 13 to Harrisburg. Jail and sheriff's office on northwest corner of Poplar & Main Streets in center of town.
Special Instructions: Drop off and pick up in sally port on west side of jail.
Sheriffs Elected From This County From 1928 (Year ISA Established) To Present (this list includes only those Sheriffs elected to a 4 year term)
1928-1930 Leige W. Turner 1930-1934 Eugene Choisser 1934-1938 Earl Evans
1938-1942 Tom Gram 1942-1946 Otto Pickering 1946-1950 Fred B. Wilmoth
1950-1954 Paul Spangler 1954-1958 William T. Barrett 1958-1962 H. Bernard Tanner
1962-1966 James L. Thompson 1966-1970 Clifton Jones 1970-1974 Glendel R. Oglesby
1974-1978 Arnold Stafford 1978-1982 George Henley 1982-1986 George Henley
1986-1990 George Henley 1990-1994 George Henley 1994-1998 George Henley
1998-2002 Jim Dunn 2002-2006 Ed Miller 2006-2010 Donald Keith Brown
2010-2014 Donald Keith Brown 2014-2018 Keith Brown