Perry County


Sheriff Steven E. Bareis
12 East Water Street
Pinckneyville, IL 62274


Phone: (618) 357-5212
Fax: (618) 357-3606


Year Elected: 2014
Years of Law Enforcement: 18

Executive Assistant: 
Chief Deputy: Wally S. Behm
Jail Administrator: Doug Clark

County Population: 25000
Square Miles: 440

County Jail Address: 12 East Water Street, Pinckneyville, Illinois 62274
Number of Jail Beds: 56
Jail Directions: I-57 - take Rt. 154 west through Sesser approx. 25 miles to Pinckneyville. Jail on left at 1st stop sign. I-64 - take Rt. 127 south 22 miles to Pinckneyville. Go around square/ courthouse onto Rt. 154 east. Jail on right across from courthouse.
Special Instructions: Sally port can be used at arresting officer's discretion. Jail Admin: Doug Clark
Sheriffs Elected From This County From 1928 (Year ISA Established) To Present (this list includes only those Sheriffs elected to a 4 year term)
1928-1930 Thomas H. Thimmig 1930-1934 Albert C. Davis 1934-1938 Robert J. Ozburn
1938-1942 Howard Lee 1942-1946 Emil Boquillon 1946-1950 Thomas O'Keefe
1950-1954 J. Craig Templeton 1954-1958 Joe Shirk 1958-1962 Thomas O'Keefe
1962-1966 John Barber 1966-1970 Norman Brostmeyer 1970-1974 Edward N. Rainwater
1974-1978 Edward N. Rainwater 1978-1982 Jerry W. Woolsey 1982-1986 Jerry W. Woolsey
1986-1990 Samuel D. Hiller 1990-1994 Samuel D. Hiller 1994-1998 Samuel D. Hiller
1998-2002 Keith Kellerman 2002-2006 Keith Kellerman 2006-2010 Keith Kellerman
2010-2014 Keith Kellerman 2014-2018 Steven E. Bareis