Montgomery County

Sheriff Rick Robbins
140 N. Main
Hillsboro, IL 62049


Phone: (217) 532-9511
Fax: (217) 532-6318


Year Elected: 2018
Years of Law Enforcement: 24

Executive Assistant: Jamie Vazzi
Chief Deputy: Bruce Sanford
Jail Administrator: Kevin Knisley

County Population: 31000
Square Miles: 710

County Jail Address: 140 North Main Street, Hillsboro, Illinois 62049
Number of Jail Beds: 42
Jail Directions: North or south - I-55 to M.M. 52 - east on Rt. 16 from Litchfield ten miles to Hillsboro. When you enter Hillsboro, turn left off of Rt. 16. From east or west - take Rt. 16 to Hillsboro to N. Main around square to jail.
Special Instructions: Sally port on north side of jail. Intercom on west entrance to communicate with jail personnel.
Sheriffs Elected From This County From 1928 (Year ISA Established) To Present (this list includes only those Sheriffs elected to a 4 year term)
1928-1930 H. C. Hill 1930-1934 Harry E. Saathoff 1934-1938 Harry H. Blackburn
1938-1942 Leo Gilliland 1942-1946 Charles Schaefer 1946-1950 Roy " Buck" Bosten
1950-1954 John Marley 1954-1958 Clem J. Neely 1958-1962 Harold D. Whitten
1962-1966 Marion Costa 1966-1970 Jerome S. Keller 1970-1974 John Marley
1974-1978 Claude J. Carlock 1978-1982 Claude J. Carlock 1982-1986 Jim Moore
1986-1990 Jim Vazzi 1990-1994 Jim Vazzi 1994-1998 Jim Vazzi
1998-2002 Jim Vazzi 2002-2006 Jim Vazzi 2006-2010 Jim Vazzi
2010-2014 Jim Vazzi 2014-2018 Jim Vazzi