McLean County


Sheriff Jon Sandage
104 W. Front St. P.O. Box 2400
Bloomington, IL 61702


Phone: (309) 888-5034
Fax: (309) 888-5072


Year Elected: 2014
Years of Law Enforcement: 13

Executive Assistant: J.J. Brasksic
Chief Deputy: Jamey Kessinger
Jail Administrator: Diane Hughes

County Population: 174061
Square Miles: 1174

County Jail Address: 104 West Front Street, Bloomington, Illinois 61702
Number of Jail Beds: 455
Jail Directions: North - I-55 south to Market Street exit. Go east to Madison Street stoplight and turn right. Continue south to Olive Street stoplight and turn left. South - I-55 to Veteran's Pkwy. exit at Main Street and turn left at light. Go north to 4th light (Olive Street) and turn left.
Special Instructions: Patrol desk (309) 888-5019. Jail (309) 888-5012.
Sheriffs Elected From This County From 1928 (Year ISA Established) To Present (this list includes only those Sheriffs elected to a 4 year term)
1928-1930 Walter Nierstheimer 1930-1934 S. J. Reeder 1934-1938 Elmer G. Swearngen
1938-1942 Walter Nierstheimer 1942-1946 Earl Richards 1946-1950 Curtis M. Gilberts
1950-1954 Earl Richards 1954-1958 Arthur M. Campbell 1958-1962 Elmo D. Poshard
1962-1966 Ralph S. Skidmore 1966-1970 Carl H. Slayback 1970-1974 John W. King
1974-1978 John W. King 1978-1982 Steve Brienen 1982-1986 Steve Brienen
1986-1990 Steve Brienen 1990-1994 Steve Brienen 1994-1998 Steve Brienen
1998-2002 David Owens 2002-2006 David Owens 2006-2010 Mike Emery
2010-2014 Mike Emery 2014-2018 Jon Sandage