Madison County


Sheriff John D. Lakin
405 Randle Street
Edwardsville, IL 62025


Phone: (618) 692-6087
Fax: (618) 656-1210


Year Elected: 2014
Years of Law Enforcement: 29 Years

Executive Assistant: Jaimie Linton
Chief Deputy: Major Jeffrey Connor
Jail Administrator: Captain Christopher Eales

Jail Superintendent: Captain Stephen Ridings

County Population: 275000
Square Miles: 686

County Jail Address: 405 Randle Street, Edwardsville, Illinois 62025
Number of Jail Beds: 312
Jail Directions: Two blocks south of Main Street in Edwardsville (Rt. 143) on Randle Street. Jail and sheriff's office are in the same building.
Special Instructions: Enter from rear thru electric control gate to sally port. All movement monitored.
Sheriffs Elected From This County From 1928 (Year ISA Established) To Present (this list includes only those Sheriffs elected to a 4 year term)
1928-1930 Otto M. Hermann 1930-1934 Peter Fitzgerald 1934-1938 E. Simon Henry
1938-1942 Walter W. Whittman 1942-1946 Harry T. Hartman 1946-1950 Dallas T. Harrell
1950-1954 James T. Callahan 1954-1958 Kenneth T. Ogle 1958-1962 George Musso
1962-1966 Barney Fraundorf 1966-1970 George Musso 1970-1974 John Maeras
1974-1978 John Maeras 1978-1982 Emil J. Toffant 1982-1986 Emil J. Toffant
1986-1990 Bob Churchich 1990-1994 Bob Churchich 1994-1998 Bob Churchich
1998-2002 Bob Churchich 2002-2006 Robert J. Hertz 2006-2010 Robert J. Hertz
2010-2014 Robert J. Hertz 2014-2018 John D. Lakin