Fayette County


Sheriff Christopher Palmer
221 South 7th
Vandalia, IL 62471


Phone: (618) 283-2141
Fax: (618) 283-5014

Website: N/A
Email: cpalmer@fayettecountyillinois.org

Year Elected: Appointed 2021
Years of Law Enforcement: 29 years

Executive Assistant: Katy Strobel & Lexi Winters
Chief Deputy: 
Jail Administrator: Ted Koonce

County Population: 24000
Square Miles: 720

County Jail Address: 221 South 7th, Vandalia, Illinois 62471
Number of Jail Beds: 72
Jail Directions: I-70 exit 61 east on Randolph St. to 8th St. South on 8th two blocks. The jail is on the east side. Parking entrance is at the corner of 8th St. and Johnson St.
Special Instructions: Jail police prisoner entrance is on south side of the jail. Ring buzzer for admission, present i.d. and lock up weapon. Prisoners must be shackled or cuffed with copies of paperwork for pickup or delivery.
Sheriffs Elected From This County From 1928 (Year ISA Established) To Present (this list includes only those Sheriffs elected to a 4 year term)
1928-1930 Harry I. Curtis 1930-1934 William Green 1934-1938 Fred Morrison
1938-1942 C. F. "Tim" Cheshier 1942-1946 Charles Brannon 1946-1950 Dennis O. Brown
1950-1954 Ralph E. Cripe 1954-1958 Dave Waltz 1958-1962 Elvis H. Mattes
1962-1966 W. David Brown 1966-1970 Leonard Kelly 1970-1974 Danny N. Michel
1974-1978 Danny N. Michel 1978-1982 Dave Waltz 1982-1986 Leonard B. Kelly
1986-1990 Leonard B. Kelly 1990-1994 Michael D. Kleinik 1994-1998 Michael D. Kleinik
1998-2002 Harold C. Johnson 2002-2006 Harold C. Johnson 2006-2010 Aaron Lay
2010-2014 Aaron Lay 2014-2018 Chris Smith