Effingham County


Sheriff David J. Mahon
101 North 4th Street, Ste. #101
Effingham, IL 62401


Phone: (217) 342-8463
Fax: (217) 342-2213

Website: http://www.co.effingham.il.us/sheriff.html
Email: sheriffmahon@co.effingham.il.us 

Year Elected: 2014
Years of Law Enforcement: 26

Executive Assistant: Mary Hoopingarner
Chief Deputy: Paul Kuhns
Jail Administrator: Marnie Raber

County Population: 33300
Square Miles: 486

County Jail Address: 101 North 4th Street, Suite #101, Effingham, Illinois 62401
Number of Jail Beds: 60
Jail Directions: From I-57 & 70 take the 162 M.P. exit and turn left traveling south on U.S. Rt. 45 to Washington St. Turn right onto Washington St. and go one block to 4th St. and turn left. Jail on the right.
Special Instructions: Use west side of building at sally port.
Sheriffs Elected From This County From 1928 (Year ISA Established) To Present (this list includes only those Sheriffs elected to a 4 year term)
1928-1930 J. D. Marshall 1930-1934 John J. Boos 1934-1938 Mark K. Ervin
1938-1942 Tom McDevitt 1942-1946 A. E. Steppe 1946-1950 Thomas A. McDevitt
1950-1954 Charles L. Melzer 1954-1958 Thomas A. McDevitt 1958-1962 Jerald E. Croft
1962-1966 L. R. Jennings 1966-1970 A. P. "Speed" Ditter 1970-1974 Leo Nosbisch
1974-1978 Kenneth Moore 1978-1982 Kenneth Moore 1982-1986 Kenneth Moore
1986-1990 Art Kinkelaar 1990-1994 Art Kinkelaar 1994-1998 Ronald Meek
1998-2002 Ronald Meek 2002-2006 Jon Monnet 2006-2010 John Monnet
2010-2014 John Monnet 2014-2018 David J. Mahon