Douglas County

Sheriff Joshua Blackwell
920 South Washington
Tuscola, IL 61953


Phone: (217) 253-2913
Fax: (217) 253-3144

Website: N/A

Year Elected: 2018
Years of Law Enforcement: 11

Executive Assistant: 
Chief Deputy: Steve Pollum
Jail Administrator: Travis Hudson

County Population: 19860
Square Miles: 417

County Jail Address: 920 South Washington, P.O. Box 438, Tuscola, Illinois 61953
Number of Jail Beds: 46
Jail Directions: I-57 to exit 212. Go west on Rt. 36 to 5th stoplight. Sheriff's office/jail located on south side.
Special Instructions: Contact Douglas County via phone, fax or teletype. Arrangements will be made at that time. Sally port located on the west side of the jail.
Sheriffs Elected From This County From 1928 (Year ISA Established) To Present (this list includes only those Sheriffs elected to a 4 year term)
1928-1930 O. R. Twiford 1930-1934 Andrew Knapp 1934-1938 Clark Edwards
1938-1942 bruce T. Williams 1942-1946 George M. Fullerton 1946-1950 Vaughn Pilcher
1950-1954 Fred W. Ringer 1954-1958 James R. Rice 1958-1962 Eugene W. Miller
1962-1966 Ronald M. Harbaugh 1966-1970 Eugene W. Miller 1970-1974 Robert L. Hausmann
1974-1978 Eugene W. Miller 1978-1982 Raymond Wigall 1982-1986 Charles Conner
1986-1990 Charles Conner 1990-1994 Charles Talbott 1994-1998 John Chambers
1998-2002 John Chambers 2002-2004 John Chambers 2004-2010 Charles McGrew
2010-2014 Charles McGrew 2014-2018 Fred Galey