Crawford County


Sheriff William Rutan
203 South Jefferson
Robinson, IL 62454


Phone: (618) 546-1515
Fax: (618) 546-0141


Year Elected: 2014
Years of Law Enforcement: 23

Executive Assistant: Stephanie Weber
Chief Deputy: Douglas Slater
Jail Administrator: Frederick Chinn

County Population: 20000
Square Miles: 464

County Jail Address: 203 S. Jefferson St., Robinson, IL 62454
Number of Jail Beds: 53
Jail Directions: State Rt. 1 to the intersection of Rt. 1 and Rt. 33. Travel west on Rt. 33 to Robinson (approx. 3 miles). Go to the 3rd stoplight and turn left. The jail will be one and a half blocks on the right.
Special Instructions: Sally port on the southeast corner of the building.
Sheriffs Elected From This County From 1928 (Year ISA Established) To Present (this list includes only those Sheriffs elected to a 4 year term)
1928-1930 C. H. Wallace 1930-1934 John Keller 1934-1938 John C. Hill
1938-1942 Clarence T. West 1942-1946 Fred C. Schroeder 1946-1950 Clarence T. West
1950-1954 Everett Alexander 1954-1958 Clarence T. West 1958-1962 Robert V. Stewart
1962-1966 Erroll W. Dix 1966-1970 Robert V. Stewart 1970-1974 Eugene "Dutch" Wood
1974-1978 Eugene "Dutch" Wood 1978-1982 Eugene "Dutch" Wood 1982-1986 Richard L. Hunnicutt
1986-1990 Tom Weger 1990-1994 Tom Weger 1994-1998 Tom Weger
1998-2002 Tom Weger 2002-2006 Tom Weger 2006-2010 Todd Liston
2010-2014 Todd Liston 2014-2018 William Rutan