Champaign County

Sheriff Dustin Heuerman
204 E. Main
Urbana, IL 61801


Phone: (217) 384-1205 
Fax: (217) 384-3023


Year Elected: 2018
Years of Law Enforcement: 15

Executive Assistant: Teresa Schleinz
Chief Deputy: Shannon Barrett
Jail Administrator: Karee Voges

County Population: 209,399
Square Miles: 1050

County Jail Address: Downtown - 204 East Main. Satellite - 502 S. Lierman, Urbana, IL 61801
Number of Jail Beds: 313
Jail Directions: Downtown Jail - I-74 from east or west. Take U.S. Rt. 45 (Cunningham Ave.), exit south to Main (1st light after going under R.R. pass). Turn left (east) on main to Lierman (approx. 1 mile). Turn right (south) go approx. 1/4 mile. Jail will be on the left.
Special Instructions: Satellite is main jail for receiving and releasing prisoners. Drive around to southeast side of jail and wait for the door to open.
Sheriffs Elected From This County From 1928 (Year ISA Established) To Present (this list includes only those Sheriffs elected to a 4 year term)
1928-1930 Elmer Shoaf 1930-1934 Fred Shoaf 1934-1938 Clarence W. Roth
1938-1942 Bert S. Walker 1942-1946 John O. Rising 1946-1950 Joseph T. Clancy
1950-1954 James E. Denney 1954-1958 Everett J. Hedrick 1958-1962 William Fairfield
1962-1966 Everett J. Hedrick 1966-1970 Russel Chaney 1970-1974 Everett J. Hedrick
1974-1978 Everett K. Hedrick 1978-1982 Joseph T. Brown 1982-1986 Joseph T. Brown
1986-1990 Joseph T. Brown 1990-1994 David J. Madigan 1994-1998 David J. Madigan
1998-2002 David J. Madigan 2002-2006 Dan Walsh 2006-2010 Dan Walsh
2010-2014 Dan Walsh 2014-2018 Dan Walsh